Perini wins Farr 40 class in Savills SORC regatta for second year in a row

November 27, 2005

After a weekend with a long and short day of racing, the Farr 40 title in the one design classes of the Savills SORC regatta has been won by Richard Perini’s Evolution for the second year in a row. Racing with the same crew that won the Rolex Farr 40 world championship earlier this year Perini’s score card gave him eight points for the five races over the two days of close competition. ‘We enjoyed the racing this weekend and will use this towards our training for our defence of our world championship title in Newport Rhode Island in 2006,’ said winning skipper Perini.

Class stalwart Lang Walker and his team on Kokomo maintained their day one position of second to hold off class newcomer Don Telford’s Rushcutter who sailed consistently over the weekend to finish on the podium for the first time this season. Calling tactics for Rushcutter is Cameron Miles who is better known for sailing his Sydney 38 Rush.

‘We are enjoying the close class racing and I think this weekends result is a combination of factors – Don is enjoying the boat and the racing, we are learning about the boat and the crew are coming together well. The Farr 40’s are a more powerful boat than the Sydney 38 and we are slowly learning the intricacies of the boat. Don has settled well into steering the boat and is enjoying the close class racing,’ commented Miles after racing today.

Joining the fleet for their first class event since the Rolex Farr 40 World Championship in March Matt Allen’s Ichi Ban finished fifth. ‘We haven’t been on the water in eight months so have a little bit of rust,’ laughed Allen as he headed out on the water this morning.

Racing on the final day of the Savills SORC regatta proved to be a testing one with the breeze building to over 30 knots in the harbour and the race committee made a prudent decision to send the fleets back to the dock after getting one race in to finish the series with a total of five races.

The next event in the Australian Farr 40 calendar will be the Rolex Trophy Series on December 10-12 being hosted by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia.

Final Results:


1 Evolution Richard Perini 2,2,1,1,2 8
2 Kokomo Lang Walker 4,1,3,3,1 12
3 Rushcutter Don Telford 3,3,5,2,4 17
4 Quantum Racing Ray Roberts 1,5,2,7,3 18
5 Ichi Ban Matt Allen 7,4,4,4,7 26
6 Venom Brett Neill 5,8,9,6,5 33
7 War Games David Urry 8,6,8,9,6 37
8 Cydon Leon Christianakis 9,7,7,5,11 39
9 Blacksnake Michael Milne 6,9,6,9,11 40

For more information check the event website or the class website at or contact Sam Crichton email \n // -->This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it ph +61 (0)407 63 64 16