Sputnik wins the Savills SORC Farr 40 class

After finishing fourth at the 2007 Rolex Farr 40 World Championship in Copenhagen in August, Ivan Wheen’s Sputnik returned to local class racing to win the Savills SORC regatta this weekend.  Nine Farr 40’s lined up to take part in the Savills SORC Regatta hosted by Middle Harbour Yacht Club.  Racing was held on the Macquarie Circle off Sydney Heads with the weekend dishing up a bit of everything weather wise.

“It’s fantastic to be back on the boat and sailing with the local fleet.  We were glad to improve on yesterday’s performance and it was perfect sailing conditions today.  We’re looking forward to having the full team back for Rolex Trophy in a couple of weeks”, said Sputnik tactician Tom King.

Marcus Blackmore’s Hooligan who led the pointscore after the first day of racing had Mark Richards, who is normally at the helm of the maxi Wild Oats XI, calling tactics.  Also returning to the helm of a Farr 40 was Neville Crichton who was steering Kokomo for Lang Walker.  Crichton last raced a Farr 40 at the 2005 Rolex Farr 40 World Championship where he finished second.

Amongst the fleet were a number of international sailors in Sydney for the upcoming summer racing season.  Racing with Michael Blumentals’s Quantum Leap was British Olympian and Extreme 40 sailor Hugh Styles along with Belgian Tornado sailor Seb Godefroid.

The Savills regatta is the fourth event in the 2007-08 Australian Farr 40 Circuit and after this event Martin Hill leads the pointscore with Guido Belgiorno Nettis in second and Matt Allen in third.  Allen and the Ichi Ban team are currently preparing for competition, in both match and fleet racing in Miami, for the Farr 40 10th Anniversary regatta.

The Farr 40 class would like to thank the MHYC for hosting this event.  The next event on the Australian Farr 40 schedule is the Rolex Trophy One Design Series, hosted by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia on December 7-9.


Final Results:
1 Sputnik I.Wheen RSYS 14
2 Hooligan M.Blackmore RPAYC 16
3 Transfusion G.Belgiorno-Nettis MHYC 20
4 Kokomo L.Walker CYCA 22
5 Estate Master L&M Hill MHYC 30
6 Quantum Leap M.Blumentals CYCA 39
7 Revolution Edake J.Carter MHYC 39
8 White Cloud B.Neill RNZYS 42
9 Impi I.Resnekov RSYS 50

For more information please go to www.farr40.org or  contact Sam Crichton ph # +61 0407 63 64 16 or email \n // -->This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it