Farr 40 European Championship 2010 Set To Start

Porto Rotondo, Italy. 29th September 2010. Preparations are well underway in Porto Rotondo for the 11th edition of the Farr 40 European sept30_farr40euroChampionship. Racing in the event, organized by the Yacht Club Porto Rotondo in conjunction with the Farr 40 Class Association and the Farr 40 European Fleet, begins tomorrow, Thursday 30th September and will continue through Sunday 3rd October. The ten participating crews are currently completing registration, sail measurement and weight controls as well as fitting in some practice on the regatta course off Porto Rotondo prior to the start of competition.

Up to ten races will be held over the course of the four-day event aboard identical Farr 40 sailing yachts. The Class enforces a strict owner-driver rule which ensures fierce competition in the fleet and - as in all one-design events - racing is close, tactical and exhilarating.

Competitors to watch will certainly include three-time class World Champion (1998, 2004 and 2009) and Farr 40 Class President, Jim Richardson aboard his Barking Mad (USA), as well as current world title holder Massimo Mezzaroma with his Nerone (ITA). Wolfgang Schaefer’s Struntje Light (GER), will also be a strong competitor having won the Audi Sardinia Cup with team Germany in nearby Porto Cervo in June 2010. Although the Corinthian spirit is strong within the class, the standard of racing is extremely high and this event has attracted renowned sailors such as Vasco Vascotto aboard Nerone, Hamish Pepper on Barking Mad, Chris Larson aboard Plenty (USA) and Ray Davies on Fiamma (ITA).

The Farr 40 European Championship 2010 also represents the second, conclusive event in the class’ European Circuit. During the final prize giving scheduled to take place at the YCPR on Sunday 3rd October, the European Championship Perpetual Trophy and the European Circuit Perpetual Trophy will be awarded in addition to a Corinthian Trophy for the best placed amateur crew.

In addition to on-the-water action participants will enjoy a full social programme including welcome and farewell cocktails at the Yacht Club Porto Rotondo and a gala dinner at the nearby Hotel Sporting. The Farr 40s are not new to Porto Rotondo, having completed a leg of their European circuit here in April 2009. Just a few months later, however, the Clubhouse was virtually destroyed in a fire which led to the complete reconstruction of the YCPR headquarters so owners and crews will be able to enjoy the new facilities provided by the host club for the first time.

Luigi Carpaneda, Commodore of YCPR commented: “We are very happy to have the Farr 40 fleet back in Porto Rotondo and we hope that our collaboration with the class will continue for many years to come.”

“The European Farr 40 fleet is delighted to be back racing in Porto Rotondo again,” echoed Wolfgang Schaefer, President of the European Farr 40 fleet. It is a wonderful venue and the newly rebuilt Clubhouse is even more charming than before. Of course the regatta course and the conditions off the north-east coast of Sardinia are among the best in the world and we are looking forward to some excellent racing with ten top-level competitors.”

Entry list:
Yacht (Nation) Owner/Charterer
Barking Mad (USA) James Richardson
Charisma (MON) Nico Poons
Enfant Terrible ITA Alberto Rossi
Fiamma (ITA) Alessandro Barnaba
Hooligan Iv (GBR) Edward Broadway
Mangusta Risk (ITA) Andrea Canavesio
Monick (DEN) David Holm
Nerone (ITA) Massimo Mezzaroma
Plenty (USA) Alex Roepers
Struntje Light (GER) Wolfgang Schaefer

For further information please visit http://www.farr40.org , http://www.farr40.net or http://www.ycpr.it or follow the Farr 40 class on Facebook and Twitter.

Jill Campbell
Press Office
Farr 40 European Championship
Tel. +39 340 167 4755
Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Maria Luisa Farris
Press Office YCPR
Tel. +39 0789 34145
Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.