Kokomo Wins The Farr 40 Sprint Series

Sydney, Australia: Lang Walker’s Kokomo has taken out their second regatta win in a row, winning the Farr 40 Sprint Series this weekend. Farr 40 teams from Australia, New Zealand and the USA have spent the weekend fine tuning crew skills and racing strategies as they prepare for the upcoming Rolex Farr 40 World Championship in February 2011.

“We’re very happy to take out our second class event this weekend in what was very trying conditions. Everyone has stepped it up and all the teams out there are very capable. It’s great to see our fellow class members Jim Richardson from the USA and Andrew Hunn from Tasmania at their first class event for this season here in Sydney and we look forward to seeing a lot more of them and other class members over the coming months”, remarked Walker.

Racing this weekend gave the teams a taste of conditions they could experience on the offshore course off Sydney Heads with racing both days being on the Manly Circle with Sydney’s iconic Manly beach as a backdrop.

Light breeze was the order for the weekend with the maximum breeze reaching eight knots over the two days of racing which tested tacticians and crew alike as they worked on honing crew work and familiarising themselves with Sydney’s offshore conditions. Racing in the hard fought one design class was tight with boats losing and gaining on their fleet members as they read the conditions that challenged everyone.

Coming up next weekend will be the 2010 Rolex Trophy being hosted by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia and the entry list hosts Rolex Farr 40 World Champions and Farr 40 Australian Champions all intent on capitalising on the opportunity to get time on the waters that will decide who is the 2011 Rolex Farr 40 World Champion. -- Sam Crichton

F40 Sprint Series Final Results

1. Kokomo,Lang Walker, YCCS, 20.0 points
2. Barking Mad, James Richardson, NYYC, 21.0
3. Estate Master, Lisa&Martin Hill, MHYC, 23.0
4. Transfusion, Guido Belgiorno-Nettis, MHYC, 30.0
5. White Cloud, Brett Neill, RNZYS, 31.0
6. Voodoo Chile, Andrew Hunn, RYCT, 33.0
7. Easy Tiger, Chris Way, RPAYC, 38.0